Light Me Up (2014)

Lights_0321Lo

Ball & Socket Manufacturing — Cheshire, Connecticut

You can imagine where work stations and machines were by the location of the overhead lights – and there were plenty of them still here.

Recently a group of three Cheshire residents has purchased the property with the idea of turning the 68,000 square foot location into a retail and cultural arts center. You may find out more about their vision here: Ball & Socket Arts

Nikon D80

Buy the Book

14 responses to “Light Me Up (2014)

  1. Great image! The atmosphere and light is just good for me all round this is space. Its a space that will see me dreaming. Reminds me of POD- Sleeping awake.

    • Thank you – I go into almost a dream-like state when I go inside all of these structures – shooting is so second nature to me – The light coming in through multiple layers of dirty glass acts like a huge soft-box for illumination helping to give the effect you describe.

  2. I was wondering about that stuff on the wall – but I see that Lignum Draco already got that clarified!

    This is a lovely space – the lighting is especially nice. I hope the eventual renovation will maintain good natural light.

    • I believe because they have gotten a few State grants they will be maintaining the integrity of the architecture – although some areas may need modification due to their end use. But they are planning a restaurant/bar, a performance area, retail space as well as a gallery.

      • I haven’t had a chance to look at the link you provided but I will try to do that today. My educational background is in architecture and historic preservation planning (my profession is neither of those), so I am always interested in seeing how old buildings can be given a new function.

      • I’m sure that they would be willing to speak with you as they do have emails provided on their site. The woman who I spoke with is Ilona – she grew up in this town and has a good vision for the place.

Leave a Reply

