Not an Exit (2014)

Dark_0068FxLo

Ball & Socket Manufacturing — Cheshire, Connecticut

Even with all the large windows, there were a lot of places inside the building where it was extremely dark – but it was too beautiful not to get the shot – even though I knew I’d have a long exposure noise issue with my camera.

The Ball & Socket Manufacturing building is currently undergoing a targeted re-purposing restoration, and you may read more about it here: Ball & Socket Arts

Nikon D80

Buy the Book

34 responses to “Not an Exit (2014)

  1. Long exposure noise or no, there is an ethereal quality to this, I really like it and think it one of your best from this place…great job 🙂

    • I actually contacted the new owners…made a pitch that they could have free (promotional) use of my images and they agreed. It is right on the main drag, so a covert assault on the place would not be recommended.

      • I suggested that they open it up to an Urbex photography tour in order to raise funds – maybe they will take my suggestion. They do have the place sealed up and there has not been a lot of vandalism, so the windows (as you can see) are mostly intact.

  2. I didn’t even notice the noise at first, only when i read your description. It’s an amazing scenery, you are a really lucky guy to be finding such places! I really love this picture, i’ll add it in my faves list 😉

  3. I love this shot so much, Robert, I can’t even tell you. I’ve looked at this window a hundred times, but it has never looked like this. I’ll see it differently from now on.

    • Thank you, glad you like the image – the thick plastic over the windows and the Fall sunshine added a lot to how the image was rendered.
      I did a bit of a diffuse glow to the window on the left and then a levels adjust to help bring out the door to the right, but that’s about it.

Leave a Reply

