Planes | 6 (2014)

ErcoLogo_8503Lo

Ercoupe 415c (Detail) — Connecticut

The Ercoupe was billed as the worlds safest plane when it was introduced in the 1940s. It was stall-resistant and spin-proof and the controls were interconnected. There were no rudder pedals, just a wheel and throttle to use in controlling the airplane. Unfortunately, the air safety record for the Ercoupe does not bear out the manufactures claims. In reality, the Ercoupe has the worse safety/crash record for any contemporary two-seat aircraft.

Nikon D700 FX

Visit my portfolio page for more images of all things abandoned HERE

ERCO Ercoupe

8 responses to “Planes | 6 (2014)

  1. Great image!
    I also wanted to let you know that my blog has changed. I lost all my content and followers during a transfer. If you would still like to follow me, my new blog address is: west517photos.wordpress.com
    🙂

Leave a Reply

