I Think Not (2013)

I Think Not (2013)

Anamet, Inc — Waterbury, Connecticut

With this image I have probably broken every photographic compositional rule you will ever read about – however, in this case, the tilted horizon and vertical convergence are used to imply the sense of disorder and entropy in this particular scene. The tight crop excludes quite a bit of the structure but (hopefully) leads your eye to the irony of the sign in the foreground. Indeed, rules are made to be broken…when appropriate. For an interesting commentary on this subject, please see an article by my blogging friend, Leanne Cole at:
http://www.photographers.com.au/news/20131127/rules-rules-rules/

Nikon D80

Visit my Website: http://www.digital-infrared.com

7 responses to “I Think Not (2013)

    • Yes, when necessary and if you (as an artist) have a reason for doing so. It should not be an excuse for lazy or poor shooting techniques. I think Leanne’s point in her article is that you need to KNOW the rules so that you CAN break them.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.